Plenary and track plenary speakers


Fred Dallmayr

Fred dallmayer

Prof. F. Dallmayr is Packey J. Dee Professor in the departments of philosophy and political science at the University of Notre Dame.

He is one of the world's most outstanding scholars in the area of intercultural political philosophy and ethics.  In his research he has engaged various Western and Eastern philosophical traditions, working in the intersection of philosophy and social science. He is famous in particular for his studies on new ways of 'being self' in a world that values diversity.

Mike Hulme is Professor of Environmental Sciences
at the University of East Anglia, UK, and Director of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research.

Internationally outstanding author in academic and public contexts, analyzing the reasons of why we disagree on climate change and climate protection:


Audrey Osler

Audrey Osler
Audrey Osler, Professor for Education and Director of the Centre for Citizenship and Human Rights Education, University of Leeds, UK. 

Internationally widely recognized for her research on international and comparative education; education for human rights, equalities, and democratic citizenship.
 Among her publications is Teachers, Human Rights and Diversity: educating citizens in a multicultural society (2005)


Timothy Reagan
Timothy Reagan is Professor of Education at Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, Connecticut, USA.

He is internationally well-known for his work on educational linguistics, foreign language education, critical pedagogy, educational leadership, and comparative and international education.

Of special significance for this event is his work on reflective practice, language policy and language planning in education, and critical linguistics in foreign language education.



Susanna Priest

Susanna Priest
Susanna Priest is currently Professor at the Hank Greenspun School of Journalism and Media Studies at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Previously, she was Director of Research for the College of Mass Communications and Information Studies at the University of South Carolina and director of the Science and Technology Journalism program Texas A&M University.
Priest's research is centered on the role of science in society and culture, its expression in the mass media, public engagement in science and science policy, and public opinion formation. She is the current editor of the Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication and editor of the journal Science Communication..
Chris Nash Chris Nash is Professor of Journalism and Director of the Journalism Program at Monash University, Victoria, Australia.

He is former Director of the Australian Centre for Independent Journalism and has worked as a prize-winning journalist for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

His research interests focus on the sociology of journalism, particularly with respect to investigative journalism and geographical issues including urban development, environmental sustainability and humanitarian issues.



Mads Ovlisen Mads Ovlisen has been Chairman of the Board of Directors of LEGO A/S since 1996, after becoming a Board member in 1990.
Since 2006, Ovlisen is a member of The United Nations Global Compact Board, New York. He is also, since 2007, Chairman of the Danish Arts Council and a member of the Board of Directors of the Wanas Foundation, Sweden.
In addition, he holds the position of adjunct professor of corporate social responsibility at the Copenhagen Business School.

ICON Aarhus University